How to be really popular on Twitter | Social Media Tips

If you are a photographer it’s really easy to be really popular on Twitter……you just become a really awesome photographer and the rest will follow! Easier said than done I know but this small bit of sound advice works for whatever you do.

If you are really good at whatever it is you do then people will be interested…..and then they will follow.

 

To quote Field of Dreams “If you built it, they will come”.


 
Social Media Tips Memory Gate
 

Just be awesome. Here are the top 10 twitter profiles, let’s see what we can learn about Twitter popularity.

 

1. Justin Bieber @justinbieber

If you can make teenage girls go mental then that could be the recipe for working your way towards over 40 million followers. I’m not sure being Canadian is an essential part of his success but you might have to become a pretty teenage boy.

 

2. Katy Perry @katyperry

I guess people can identify will her in some way or they like her songs or something.

 

3. Lady Gaga @ladygaga

See No.2

 

4. Barack Obama @BarackObama

If politics is your thing (and you are an American citizen) then being a two term President of the United States is about as awesome as you can get at what you do. Becoming a leader (of whatever) might help you in your goal towards building that following.

 

5. Taylor Swift @taylorswift13

Sell lots of music, be happy, free, confused and lonely all at the same time. Whatever, I’m not even really sure I know who she is but 30 million people seem to want to know what she has to say for herself. Perhaps my theory is a little flawed.

 

6. Rihanna @rihanna

See 2, 3 and 5

 

7. YouTube @YouTube

Create something awesome, sell it to Google and let them make it better! There you have it, instant success and following!

 

8. Britney Spears @britneyspears

When you walk into a room announce yourself as loud as you can “It’s [Yourname] Bitch!” This might help you gain a following or it might just upset people. Either way, if being awesome at being nuts can get you just shy of thirty million followers then who I am to argue for having a system that works?

 

9. Instagram @instagram

Create something awesome, sell it to Facebook and let them make it better! There you have it, instant success and following!

 

10. Justin Timberlake @jtimberlake

Do the theme tune for a MacDonald’s advertising campaign, be associated with people that are nuts.

 

In conclusion my theory is a little bit flawed BUT all of these people do create things and have contributed to society in a big way (good and bad). The biggest flaw in my theory does come when you look a bit further down the list and find Kim Kardashian at No.17 with 18 million followers.

There might not be hope for the human race after all.

 

If you’d like you could follow me @memorygate. I’m trying to be more awesome but it’s not easy.

 


Subscribe to the Memory Gate Training newsletter

 

Facebook Comments

Contact Memory Gate

    Your Name (required)

    Your Email (required)

    Subject

    I'm intrested in: (required)
    Business ServicesBaby PhotographyFamily PhotographyOther

    Your Message

    Please type text to field below
    captcha

    %d bloggers like this: